WHAT IS THE SEED?

The SEED is a not-for-profit food project at the Guelph Community Health Centre that was created in 2015 by a coalition of community organizations and individuals.

The problem we are tackling - and the solutions we believe in

  • Over 20,000 people in Guelph and Wellington County can’t afford healthy food.

  • Our goal is to make Guelph- Wellington the first community in Canada to eradicate food insecurity by:

    • Delivering food programs that build food literacy and increase access to good food.

    • Operating social enterprises that increase good food access, train and employ youth, and generate revenue that is re-invested in achieving our Mission/Vision.

    • Working with community members and partner organizations to make good things happen.

    • Advocating for systems-change and effective food policies.

Mission/Vision

  • The SEED delivers community programs and operates social enterprises that address the causes and effects of food insecurity.

  • We are working towards a community with no barriers to healthy food.

We value

• Food Justice:   Access to healthy food is a basic human rights.

• Community food programs and social enterprise:  Vehicles for empowering people to be agents of change.

• Diversity:  Solutions come from diverse voices, experiences and input.

• Grassroots community leadership. There are food leaders in every corner of Guelph and Wellington.

OUR TEAM

The SEED is expanding! To find out about job opportunities as the arise please keep and eye on the Guelph Community Health Centre jobs posting page or sign up for our mailing list.

Gavin Dandy

Directing Coordinator

gdandy@guelphchc.ca

519-993-0929

Becca Clayton

Community Outreach Coordinator
rclayton@guelphchc.ca
519-821-6638 x309

Tom Armitage

Social Enterprise Development Coordinator
tarmitage@guelphchc.ca
519-821-6638 x344

Madeline Barber

Community Resources Coordinator

mbarber@guelphchc.ca
519-821-6638 x319

Angela Picot

Foodfit Coordinator
apicot@guelphchc.ca
519-821-6638 x388

Brittany Skelton

Community Food Markets

Coordinator

bskelton@guelphchc.ca

Kari Badgerow

Fresh Food Distribution

Coordinator

kbadgerow@guelphchc.ca

 
Join Our Mailing List:
Oh KALE YEAH
we’re on Instagram!
We humbly acknowledge that we reside and work on the ancestral and treaty lands of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation of the Anishnawbek Peoples.